Coming Clean about my Cleveland 1/2 Marathon Training

My bio on my Twitter page simply states “Training for the Cleveland half-Marathon May 19, 2013! I like #treadmilltweets.

I don’t remember when I decided I was going to run the half-marathon in Cleveland again this year, but it was at least 4 months ago.

I remember getting so pumped up about my training! I was really going to do it right this year!

I picked up this favorite of mine: 20130321_114028

I posted Coach Jenny’s 14 week “Run Half Marathon” schedule right to my calendar:

Scan_Pic0054

And I even created a new Twitter account where, I have to say, I have received a lot of support and encouragement from other Cleveland Marathon runners-to-be! (Thanks!!)

It’s now week 6 of my training and guess how many days I have trained! Well, if you follow me on Twitter, and you guessed TWICE due to the fact that I have only tweeted about two runs in the last 6 weeks, you would be CORRECT!

So now the big question… do I still run the Cleveland half-marathon on May 19th?

I must admit, I was ready to throw in the towel.  Two years ago, I had much better weather for training. This year, we have had so much more snow and I’m really not a fan of the treadmill (the only joy I find on the treadmill is my treadmill tweets!)

After receiving some encouragement from friends and other fellow runners, I have decided that I still really do want to try to run Cleveland! I still have a good 8 weeks left. I was hoping to really train hard for 14 weeks but I am now going to train hard for 8 weeks and set my half-marathon goals accordingly!

Starting today!

Thanks again to everyone for all the positive vibes and here’s hoping for some warmer Cleveland weather real soon!

One thought on “Coming Clean about my Cleveland 1/2 Marathon Training

  1. You can do it! This weather has me in the dumps too, but I think we Cleveland-ers are tougher than we think. My training hasn’t been what I dreamed it would be, but I’m spending more time cross-training inside in the hopes of being stronger when I step outside. 8 weeks can get you there. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

